A Letter to Myself 9 Years from Now

Last weekend, I was feeling a bit down and anxious since my third year of college was about to start. The thought of going back to school did not excite me, and I just felt like I needed someone to give me a pep talk or something to get my spirit up again. So what I did was I reread some of the letters that I have collected over the past years from my friends to remind me that I am not alone in this world and that they are and will always be there to encourage me and to support me in everything that I do.

After reading their letters, I felt a little bit lighter but not totally. It was like I was still waiting for a “certain someone” to give me a message or some advice, and I suddenly realized that the person I badly wanted to hear fromΒ was myself.Β So I searched my drawer for a letter I wrote around a year ago dedicated to my 27 year old self. It was for an activity in one of my classes and I kept the letter because it really meant a lot to me. But now, I will be sharing itΒ in this blog, so that if ever I lose the letter, I will still be able to read it from here. I hope that this letter inspires you to write one for yourself too, because we must learn that we can’t always rely on other people to encourage us or to compliment us or to make us feel good and happy. Sometimes, it must come from ourselves. So here goes my letter to myself 9 years from now.

Dear Me,

Well hello 27-year old me! WOW. 9 YEARS. How time flies by so fast. I wish that when I’m 27, I’d already have a lovely boyfriend who will also be the man I’ll marry and spend the rest of my life with. And I do hope you have that. If not, well, only time and God can tell.

You’ve probably already graduated college and taken your board exam, and you passed both in flying colors. To be honest, I don’t know which career path you’ve chosen, but I really do hope you’re happy. πŸ™‚ I hope you’ve traveled more parts of the world with your family and friends. I hope you’re living a healthy life and don’t put on some weight you don’t need. I hope you’re ready to face your thirties with a head held high, and always know you’ve got people to support you. Don’t be afraid to make new friends, but never forget the old ones.

To end this letter, allow me to state a few quotes/advice that I know you once loved.

Don’t be afraid, just believe. Always trust God, no matter what. Even if you’re a fully grown adult now, you’re on your own, but know you’re not alone. And always choose to be happy, because happiness and love are the best things you can experience in your only life.

Take care, God bless, and as Michelle Phan always says, good luck!

 

xo, moira ❀ 

One thought on “A Letter to Myself 9 Years from Now

Leave a Reply

