The Beautiful Imperfection Tag

tumblr_lzna2urDiS1qmm39mo1_500

Hi everyone! I was chosen by fellow blogger, riyasharmaviews, to do the Beautiful Imperfection Tag, wherein the goal is to basically define what it means to be beautiful, to write about what I find beautiful and not beautiful (aka imperfections) about myself. I honestly got excited when I saw that I was tagged because the topic of beauty is something that is close to my heart. Being a woman, a teenager, a girly girl, and a fashion/beauty blogger (naks), I can’t help but spend some time thinking and wondering about what it really means to be beautiful.

First of all, I would like to put it out there that there is no single correct definition of beauty. Beauty is something that is subjective, and I don’t intend to put an objective definition to it. I believe that beauty is in the eye of the beholder, and each of us sees it from different unique perspectives. So what I am going to write is MY own take on what it means to be beautiful, as viewed from my eyes and my beliefs.

As much as I hate to say this, or maybe you don’t want to hear this, I still believe in the concept of outer or physical beauty. Growing up in the Philippines, which is a country that for some reason just loooves showbusiness, I would watch TV and be wowed by the looks of celebrities such as Liza Soberano, Anne Curtis, Marian Rivera, and a LOT more.

liza-soberano-wants-to-be-like-emma-watson

I mean just look at her! How can you not find Liza beautiful?? If this is your first time seeing a picture of Liza, do you find her pretty? Of course you do! And doesn’t that make you want to get to know her even more, to be her friend? People like her who were blessed to be drop dead gorgeous have this sort of advantage in making good first impressions. Even when we don’t acknowledge it, the first thing we really notice about a person is their outer beauty, and if she is good-looking, then most likely, we would draw our attention to her. (P.S. Just to clear things up, I am not hating on Liza Soberano. In fact, I find her one of the most beautiful celebrities, not only for her looks, but also because she is super kind and has a good heart. ❤ I love her so much :(( )

tumblr_nbugzbFn7o1qfgucxo8_250

Yup Smackle, you got that right. This is indeed a world where pretty seems better somehow, which is unfortunate, but you can’t deny it.

HOWEVER, even if I believe in physical beauty, I NEVER stop there. It is so easy to get caught up on what we look like, that sometimes, we forget that what really matters is who we are on the inside. Yes, outer beauty matters, but inner beauty matters MORE. Besides, what good is a pretty face when you have an ugly heart? But when you have an amazing personality, it will shine out of your face like sun beams and you will always look lovely to the right people. *wink*

For me, inner beauty is defined by three things: kindness, confidence, and humility. I find that kind people have this glow to them and everyone is happy to be their friend. They possess hearts that are just so genuine and pure that it shows in the way they talk and smile, and I would always find that beautiful. Confidence is another thing that makes someone attractive. If you take a close look at celebrities or models, you will find that they don’t have perfect faces or body shapes. But you still notice them because they carry themselves really well. Lastly, we have humility. No, humility is not the opposite of confidence. A person who is humble but not confident is simply shy or still lacking self-belief, while a person who is confident but not humble is simply boastful. But a person who is confident AND humble is simply beautiful. ❤

tumblr_nzpsflfSiB1suajrno1_1280

But do you want to know what the number one secret on what it means to be beautiful is to me? It is self-acceptance. Let’s face it, all of us have our insecurities, even Beyonce has them. Trust me! I can admit to also having insecurities, and I’ll even name a few for you. I hate my eye bags, I wish I had a smaller/pointier nose, I don’t like seeing my double chin on pictures, I don’t want to have any belly fat, I want a tinier waist line, and the list can go on and on. I don’t love every single facial or body feature I have because I am imperfect. And as much as I want to be perfect, I can’t, for I am only human. My imperfections are there for a reason, and I have come to embrace these flaws of mine. I don’t necessarily love them, but I acknowledge and accept them.

DSC07053

Know that in life, some people will point out your insecurities. Even the prettiest faces or kindest hearts still get hate for their imperfections, but once you have learned to accept these flaws and love yourself for being beautifully imperfect, then no one can use them against you.

Despite what other people say or think about you, it is only by believing in your own capabilities and accepting the beauty of being imperfect that you can become truly beautiful. ❤

This post was a lengthy one, but if you have read until here, then I tag and challenge you to write about your take on what it means to be beautiful. ❤

xo, moira ❤

2 thoughts on “The Beautiful Imperfection Tag

Leave a Reply

